Favorite lyrics, Stuck in my Head like Super-Glue ™


jumbledThoughtsNot my typical format for a post, but a random aside. One idea from of the brainstorm posted on May 21st.

These are lyrics that just play back in my head, jumped out at me and/or made a great impression on me. Sometimes they are funny, sometimes unusual or random, and always clever.

Enjoy and comment with your favorite lyrics please!!

Boo singing baby-talk in the bathroom from Monsters Inc.

Sit in shadow long,
and no one hears Miss Kong,
and then one lemon lum. (to the tune of “Beauty and the Beast -1991)
Sand-fly, sandy cake,
Sailin’ in clay (to the tune of “”One Love”, from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs -1937)

“They Might Be Giants – Birdhouse in Your Soul” is is pretty wild. The music video http://vimeo.com/7598098 might explain some of the strange lyrics:

I’m your only friend
I’m not your only friend
But I’m a little glowing friend
But really I’m not actually your friend, but I am

Portal – Still Alive

I’ve experiments to run, There is research to be done, On the people who are..
Still Alive, And believe me I am! Still Alive. I’m doing science and I’m Still Alive, I feel fantastic! and I’m, Still Alive, While you’re dying I’ll be: Still Alive.. And when you’re dead I will be:

STILL Alive.

Jonathan Coulton (Portal) – Still Alive Lyrics

And another unusual Jonathan Coulton line from song “Re: Your Brains”

All we want to do is eat your brains
We’re not unreasonable, I mean, no one’s gonna eat your eyes
All we want to do is eat your brains
We’re at an impasse here, maybe we should compromise:
If you open up the doors
We’ll all come inside and eat your brains

And since I taught Origami to high school students and Origami is particularly relaxing for me. I like Origami lyrics, like this one from Eve 6 – “Inside Out”

‘SoCal’ is where my mind states, but it’s not my state of mind
I’m not as ugly, sad as you
Or am I origami? Folded up and just pretend
Demented as the motives in your head

And finally I leave you with a poem about lightning. For no reason at all, except it’s raining outside. Usually rain is an inspiration to me, but today it has the effect of dulling and jumbling my thoughts. I give you this borrowed Haiku:

“Lightning” haiku winner Tiffany Q. Tyson of Centennial

by haiku_admin on August 4th, 2009, 7:21 am #949336

Afternoon storms bring
Thunder, lightning, hail and rain;
Pup on lap, trembling.

The End (of the madness)

Madness is ‘to be continued…’

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

